View count: 2438

Vision and strategies

Quality House

Outstanding English language ability and inter-cultural communication skills have become two indispensable qualities for anyone who would like to excel in this increasingly interconnected world. In view of this, the department has the remit to nourish talents through extensive language and cultural training. Our main strategies are as follows.

1.Emphasizing on Language Proficiency and Cultural Understanding

“Language” and ‘culture’ are two equally important elements in conducting effective communication. Therefore, our courses are designed to improve students’ English proficiency in reading, listening, writing and speaking as well as train students to understand how culture affects logic, behavior and communication.
 

2.Using English as the medium language in teaching

English is the language we use to teach. This practice will help students think and talk in English at advanced level, including academic discussions and public speaking. Over time students will be used to adjusting tones, sentence structures, and vocabulary in accordance with different communication contexts.
 

3.The Mandatory Junior Year Abroad Program

It is mandatory for all Taiwanese students in our department to study abroad in their junior year. During the year abroad, students will not only take degree courses with other foreign students but also live in a foreign culture. This is a unique feature of our curriculum and students find the experience hugely beneficial to their language training and understanding of different cultures.
 

4.Promoting Professional English Language Certification

We understand the importance of professional language licenses in today’s job market. Therefore, the department has set particular language requirement for graduation: TOEFL ibt 71 or IELTS 6 or TOEIC 700 for students admitted from academic year 2014, and for students who are admitted after academic year 2017, the requirement has been adjusted to TOEFL ibt 78, IELTS 6 or TOEIC 750.
 

5.Providing Internship Opportunities for Students

Since the academic year 2014, the department has liaised with several reputable companies to provide internship for our students. The internship experience has helped many students understand the industry and what they want to do after graduation. More importantly, students are able to acquire valuable work experience and develop desirable work ethics through the internship.

瀏覽人次: 1296

願景與策略

This is an image

台灣產業發展政策中的六大產業均以國際化為願景,而國際化不可或缺的條件之一便是能運用國際的語言對來自不同文化背景的人作有效的合作與溝通,因此,本系的設立宗旨為「透過生活化紮實綿密的訓練、培養全球化時代的英語人才」並透過下列策略達為國家培育最具有全球化潮流下所需的英語溝通能力的人才。
 
一、強調「語言」與「文化」並重之學習專業
「語言」與「文化」是兩項有效溝通的必須工具,透過語言學群課程的設計加強學生英語專業能力,同時透過文化學群課程訓練同學體認文化如何影響個人思維及行為,並運用對英美文學、文化及社會方面的暸解來增進溝通技巧。
 
二、全英語授課增進學生英文能力
使學生不只是具備一般日常英語溝通的能力,更可以讓學生習慣根據對象、情境及目的調整表達內容的語句結構、詞彙選用、說話口氣語調,並練習用英文進行深層的思辨及口語簡報。
 
三、學生必須完成大三出國修業一年
出國這一年不僅直接與英語為母語人士一同學習,有助於英語能力的養成,更重要的是讓學生置身於不同的文化場域,反思文化的意涵,及語言、個人及文化間的關係,並開拓國際視野與培養全球觀。
 
四、推廣英語專業證照取得
為鼓勵學生在畢業前即擁有英語能力專業證照,本系設有英語畢業門檻 (103學年入學新生起畢業門檻為TOEFL ibt 71、IELTS 6、多益700分,106年入學新生起畢業門檻為TOEFL ibt 78、IELTS 6、多益750分)
 
五、開設產業實習課程
本系自103學年度起開始提供由系上安排媒合之產業實習機會,一方面幫助學生找尋職涯方向,一方面協助在學生建立職場經驗及培養良好的職場工作態度。